Tuesday, November 4, 2014

Body By Derby: Cincinnati Rollergirls

Body By Derby is a figure study of active derby athletes to show the different body types of active skaters and the physical effects derby has on the players. This entry features skaters from Cincinnati Rollergirls. More pictures can be found at Cory's website. Get future updates on Facebook by following The Rollergirl Project.



From Left: REDRUM, Ruthless Chris, Tru D. Vicious, Big Ugly, Skunna Hurt, I Caramba!, and Kitten Kicker


BBD-1380 Name REDRUM
Age 29
Children 1 Daughter, Millie, Age 3
Height 5' 5”
Weight 145 lbs
Weight before derby 155 lbs
Started January 2014
Key Position Offensive & Defensive Blocker
Practice time per week 6 to 10 hours
Other Workout I'm always on the go and getting into something, so official workouts are few and far between. I've learned, however, that a game of frisbee with my puggle or chasing my 3 year old around a park, will sculpt even the smallest of calves and biceps.
Diet Maybe one day when I grow up... No, but seriously, I eat an excessive amount of fruit and on occasion, I'll mess with a snack of the vegetable variety.
Laps in 5 minutes
Previous Athletic Experience

Oh wow, where do I begin with all of my extensive athletic experience...
After dabbling in a little S.A.Y. soccer and t-ball back in grade school, my heart settled into the comfy confines of marching band nerdom. Enough said.


BBD-1188 Name Ruthless Chris
Age 39
Children 2 daughters, both 11 yrs old
Height 5' 5"
Weight 155 lbs
Weight before derby 145 lbs

March 2011 - First Tryout

Jan 2012 - Made the team

Key Position Jammer
Practice time per week 7.5 hrs
Other Workout I lift weights and run intervals 2x a week. I used to run a lot pre-derby but not so much these days
Diet I should but I don't! I love food, so at the very least I try to include lean meats, fruits & veggies as much as possible.
Laps in 5 minutes 33 laps in 5 minutes
Previous Athletic Experience I have ran multiple 1/2 marathons, plus one road and one trail full marathon.


BBD-1211 Name Tru D. Vicious
Age 40
Children 3
Height 5' 7"
Weight 133 lbs
Weight before derby 143 lbs
Started February 2013
Key Position Jammer
Practice time per week 7.5 hrs
Other Workout

Insanity- The Asylum
-Speed & Agility
-Vertical Plyo
-Back to Core
-Strength w/ bands
-Game Day Overtime

Diet Vegan
Laps in 5 minutes 32 laps in 5 min.
Previous Athletic Experience

High School Varsity- volleyball, basketball, softball
Post High School- college basketball


BBD-1169 Name Big Ugly
Age 31
Children 1 child - Age 7
Height 6 ft
Weight 140 lbs (I was scrawny)
Weight before derby 170 lbs
Started I'm on my 3rd season
Key Position Defensive Blocker
Practice time per week 7 hrs
Other Workout Crossfit in the off season!! While in season it's all the workout DVDs Monday - Friday morning! Ruthless Chris and I are accountability buddies!
Diet 80/20. I eat right 80% of the time so I don't feel bad about having a donut. I drink a ton of water and try to sneak as many veggies as I can into my meals.
Laps in 5 minutes 33 laps in 5 minutes but I'm going to get that up higher and higher!
Previous Athletic Experience I was mostly a theater kid! I have dabbled in kickboxing and used to make ramps to skate over with on my rollerblades.


BBD-1089 Name Skunna Hurt
Age 18
Children None
Height 5' 11”
Weight 160 lbs
Weight before derby 175 lbs
Started 4 years ago
Key Position Offensive Blocker
Practice time per week 9 hrs
Other Workout
Diet Sometimes
Laps in 5 minutes 32 laps in 5 min
Previous Athletic Experience Softball & soccer


BBD-1136 Name I, Caramba!
Age 37
Children None
Height 5' 6"
Weight 140 lbs
Weight before derby 148 lbs
Started March 2011
Key Position Jammer & Defensive Blocker
Practice time per week 8 hours
Other Workout I try to find activities that build strength and endurance outside of practice, but during the season, I really struggle to find the time. I'm better about hitting non-derby activities during our off season. I've been involved periodically with Crossfit since the summer of 2012, and I'm hoping to get back to the box as this season wraps up. My husband and I used to enjoy spinning together too, so I'd love to get back to the bike.
Diet I tend to eat paleo for breakfast and dinner, with anything as fair game for lunch. That's how I balance eating healthy, with not feeling deprived. I'm not very good at diets, but I try to watch the scale and how my clothes fit. When it starts creeping up on me, I cut out more carbs. I also have to be more careful during the off season. When you're skating 6-8 hours a week, you can afford the extra calories. When the hours on skates go down, it's easy for the pounds to go up. Our team likes to joke about fat December, so I know it's something we all struggle with. I'm also pretty convinced I'd be about 10 pounds lighter if ice cream and french fries weren't so good.
Laps in 5 minutes
Previous Athletic Experience

You name the sport, and I've probably tried it. From the more obscure, like ice hockey (that was a terrible idea!) and curling, to the more traditional like, soccer, volleyball, and softball, I can't ever remember a time in my life when I wasn't playing a sport. Growing up, I rolled from one sport to the next, and sometimes was involved in more than one at a time. When I hit high school, the community leagues weren't available anymore, so I had to narrow it down to a few. My "letters" included 4 years of volleyball, 4 years of track & field (sprinter & discus), 1 year of basketball, and 1 year of swimming. (The theater was the only reason I didn't play 2 more seasons.)
I've never been a super star athlete. I've always been just good enough to make the team, so there was no chance of collegiate athletics for me. I didn't have the natural talent, or to be honest, the dedication. Sports to me has always been more about having fun, staying in shape, and being part of a team. All of those things are important to me still, so I've tried to keep sports in my life since leaving high school. Throughout college I was involved with intramural leagues and even took a few courses on coaching. As an adult, I played volleyball or softball pretty much year round...until I found derby. As my friends and family can attest to, derby has pretty much taken over my life since the day I got up the nerve to strap on skates and show up to a try out. It is by far the hardest game I've ever played, and I've never had so much fun!


BBD-1292 Name Kitten Kicker
Age 30
Children None
Height 5' 4"
Weight 135 lbs
Weight before derby 125 lbs
Started 2010
Key Position Offensive & Defensive Blocker
Practice time per week 3X per week
Other Workout


Diet None
Laps in 5 minutes 34 laps in 5 mins
Previous Athletic Experience

High school & YMCA Swim teams
Tough Mudder



No comments:

Post a Comment