Thursday, April 24, 2014

Body By Derby: Mothers of the Bleeding Heartland

Body By Derby is a figure study of active derby athletes to show the different body types of active skaters and the physical effects derby has on the players. This entry features skaters from Bleeding Heartland Roller Derby. More pictures can be found at Cory's website. Get future updates on Facebook by following The Rollergirl Project.
From Left: Thigh Candy, Rocket Docket, Sugar Diebeat'cha, Speedium Rear, Shanda "Doc" Rude, & ValHowler
BBD-3040 Name Thigh Candy
Age 33
Children Hunter is 9 and Alivia is 8....they are only 10 months apart so they get called twins a lot :-)
Height 5' 6”
Weight 218
Weight before derby I'm not sure.  My weight has fluctuated from a high of 251 to a low of 208 over the last 4 seasons.
Started January 2010
Key Position Defensive Blocker
Practice time per week 9 hours
Other Workout I started with a trainer at Force Fitness in January of this year and work out with him 2 hrs a week on top of our normal practices. Yeah I work really hard for this jealous! I love to be outside, hiking, swimming, zip lining, WHATEVER just bring it. Sunshine makes me happy, moving my body makes me happy, being strong makes me happy so i try to do ALL of the things!
Diet High protein low sugar when I'm eating well.  When I'm not its more like the Man Vs Food diet. I tend to eat for the season.  I like to fluff up for the winter so I stay warm and then I tend to slim down in the summer :-)
Laps in 5 minutes 28.5 laps is the most I've ever gotten and that was while I was in the best derby shape I've ever been Dad is a logger, I'm built more for strength than I am for speed.
Previous Athletic Experience I played softball from the age of 5 all the way up through college until I tore my ACL...(the first time).
I started volleyball in middle school and received a scholarship to also play in college but the ACL happened before our season started and well you need to have a functioning knee to play so I stopped :-) I attempted basketball in high school because hey I was an athlete and I could do anything...turns out that is NOT the first high school game I played defense...the whole game...ehhh who needs offense anyway!

BBD-3084 Name Rocket Docket
Age 31
Children 1, she is 4 years old.
Height 5' 6"
Weight around 120
Weight before derby Don't know, probably more.
Started June 2013
Key Position Jammer, Offensive & Defensive Blocker
Practice time per week 9+ hours
Other Workout Biking, walking, carrying children around, miscellaneous things.
Diet None
Laps in 5 minutes 29 laps in 5 min
Previous Athletic Experience I was on various swim teams through high school. Nothing serious more recently.

BBD-3019 Name Sugar Diebeat'cha
Age 40
Children A 14 yo daughter & 10 yo son
Height 5' 4"
Weight 155
Weight before derby 165
Started 2011
Key Position Defensive Blocker
Practice time per week Currently none due to injury. Usually 9 hrs a week
Other Workout I swim with friends
Diet I count carbs for my diabetes but otherwise I don't diet.
Laps in 5 minutes 27 laps in 5 minutes
Previous Athletic Experience In high school, I swam and played tennis
At the time these photos were taken, Sugar was several weeks into recovering from a serious ankle injury.

BBD-2976 Name Speedium Rear
Age 23
Children 1 child Age 8
Height 5' 5"
Weight 131
Weight before derby 123
Started September 2013
Key Position Jammer
Practice time per week 9 to 10 hours
Other Workout Not Consistently.
Diet I TRY to eat lots of protein. I love junk food, but I try to stay away from it.
Laps in 5 minutes 29.5 laps in 5 mins
Previous Athletic Experience I ran track and played basketball in school. I placed in the top 8 in the state of Kentucky in two of my events for track in high school.

BBD-3157 Name Shanda "Doc" Rude
Age 28
Children 1 child, 1year old
Height 5' 6"
Weight 170
Weight before derby 165ish
Started Oct 2009
Key Position Offensive & Defensive Blocker
Practice time per week 7 to 9 hours
Other Workout Cross-fit type off skates work outs. I try to keep moving in other ways, trail skating, home workouts, pushing a stroller while walking 2 dogs.
Diet I just try to make good food decisions.
Laps in 5 minutes 29 laps in 5 min
Previous Athletic Experience Softball, track, and soccer in high school, and a failed attempt at becoming a distance runner in college. Derby was a welcome return to a competitive sport.

BBD-2941 Name ValHowler
Age 39
Children I have two ages 19 and 13
Height 5’ 4”
Weight 189
Weight before derby 230
Started Five years ago. I went to be an extra in 8 wheels of death and was instantly in love with the sport. Watching those ladies do their thing, I knew I had to be one of them. 
Key Position Offensive & Defensive Blocker
Practice time per week Anywhere from 3-9 hours if I'm active. I'm going to school an being a mom too so I don't try to team place all the time. 
Other Workout Yes I coach the Junior League and I do core, strength and cardio outside of all derby activities as well. 
Diet I eat lean proteins and non-starchy veggies as my main rules of engagement. 
Laps in 5 minutes 29 laps in 5 min
Previous Athletic Experience I flew trapeze with a local circus, I was a swimmer and do horseback riding currently. I also currently coach for the junior league. 


1 comment: